Faculty & Staff

Administration   |   Arts   |   Humanities   |   Math & Science   |   Support

Administration
Kelly McGuire

Kelly McGuire

Principal
A Brooklyn resident and father of twins, Kelly McGuire grew up in St. Paul, Minnesota. He has an undergraduate degree in sociology from Minnesota State University, a master’s in education from the University of San Francisco and an administration degree from the University of California at Berkeley. Kelly got his start in teaching through Teach for America in Baton Rouge, LA, and worked in the Oakland, CA. schools before coming to New York as assistant principal of Wagner Middle School. Kelly McGuire has been the principal of LMC since 2005 where he keeps his focus on building a diverse community of students who learn not just academic subjects, but also to care for each other and their surroundings.
kmcguire@lmc896.org
Shanna Douglas

Shanna Douglas

Interim Acting Assistant Principal
Shanna Douglas has spent the last 17 years teaching English Language Arts in middle school, and 5 of those years were spent at LMC as an 8th grade teacher.  She earned an undergraduate degree from Pennsylvania State University and a master’s degree from Teachers College, Columbia University. Ms. Douglas strongly believes that schools should be a place where academic, social and emotional learning takes place. Because of this, there is no other place she would rather be than at LMC.  Ms. Douglas is a Brooklynite, so outside of school you might see her at Greenlight Bookstore or spending quality time with her family.  Like everyone at LMC, Shanna loves to read and surrounds herself with books of all genres.  Her favorite middle school novel is To Kill A Mockingbird
sdouglas@lmc896.org
Cynthia Savino

Cynthia Savino

Parent Coordinator
csavino@lmc896.org
Joanne Wong

Joanne Wong

Pupil Accounting Secretary
jwong@lmc896.org
Maria Ouranitsas

Maria Ouranitsas

School Secretary
mouranitsas@lmc896.org
Carol Rodriguez

Carol Rodriguez

School Aide
crodriguez@lmc896.org
Arts & Physical Education
Caprice Abraham

Caprice Abraham

Dance / SETTS
cabraham@lmc896.org
Riley Ayndow

Riley Ayndow

Dance / 7th/8th Gr Science ICT
rayndow@lmc896.org
Ngozi Akbar

Ngozi Akbar

Physical Education
nakbar@lmc896.org
Grace Lee

Grace Lee

Visual Arts
glee@lmc896.org 
Jaime Seymour

Jaime Seymour

Visual Arts
jseymour@lmc896.org
Jessica Sinclair

Jessica Sinclair

Digital Arts - Arts Facilitator
jsinclair@lmc896.org
Jude Traxler

Jude Traxler

Music Teacher
jtraxler@lmc896.org
Humanities
Cathaliya Acevedo

Cathaliya Acevedo

8th Grade Social Studies
cacevedo@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Maura Griffin

Maura Griffin

601 / 602 Humanities
mgriffin@lmc896.org
Matt Herzfeld

Matt Herzfeld

801 / 802 English
mherzfeld@lmc896.org
Valerie Lake

Valerie Lake

704/804 English and Humanities Coach and Facilitator
vlake@lmc896.org
Lauren Matyola

Lauren Matyola

701/702/703 ELA
lmatyola@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Eli Scherer

Eli Scherer

801 / 802 English - Restorative Justice Facilitator
escherer@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Amanda Scott

Amanda Scott

601 / 602 Humanities
ascott@lmc896.org
April Shull

April Shull

603 / 604 Humanities
ashull@lmc896.org
Kim Sidorowicz

Kim Sidorowicz

7th Grade Social Studies
ksidorowicz@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Laura Siegle

Laura Siegle

701/702/703 ELA
lsiegle@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Carolyn Sinclair-McCalla

Carolyn Sinclair-McCalla

701/702/703/801/802 Social Studies ICT
csinclairmccalla@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Math & Science
Elaine Chin

Elaine Chin

803 / 804 - Math - Math Facilitator
echin@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Helen Dole

Helen Dole

6th Grade Science
hdole@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Louisa Glor

Louisa Glor

801 / 802 / 703 Math
lglor@lmc896.org
Shelley Gold

Shelley Gold

701 / 702 / 704 Math
sgold@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Molly Goodell

Molly Goodell

601/602 Science and SETSS
mgoodell@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Menaka Jeyapalan

Menaka Jeyapalan

601/602/603 - Math
mjeyapalan@lmc896.org
Jessica Kelman

Jessica Kelman

801 / 802 / 703 Math
jkelman@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
David Lai

David Lai

701 / 702 / 604 Math
dlai@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Joshua Ng

Joshua Ng

8th Grade Science / Science Facilitator
jhng@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Diane Pflug

Diane Pflug

7th Grade Science - 7th Grade Facilitator
dpflug@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Peter Reitzfeld

Peter Reitzfeld

601 / 602 Math and SETSS
preitzfeld@lmc896.org
My Teacher Site
Support
Cesarlina Aviles

Cesarlina Aviles

ELL Teacher, programmer
caviles@lmc896.org
Albert Barbosa

Albert Barbosa

School Aide
abarbosa@lmc896.org
Bruno

Bruno

Comfort Dog
My Biography
Carlos Cobo

Carlos Cobo

Para Professional
ccobo@lmc896.org
Tyrell Davis

Tyrell Davis

Sports Coach
tdavis@lmc896.org
Rizzah Decopain

Rizzah Decopain

Speech Therapist
rdecopain@lmc896.org
Ariel Klein

Ariel Klein

Psychologist
aklein@lmc896.org
Seth Kritzman

Seth Kritzman

Guidance Counselor - Respect for All staff member
skritzman@lmc896.org
Flavia Mulligan

Flavia Mulligan

SAPIS Guidance Counselor - Respect for All staff member
fmulligan@lmc896.org
Laura Quinn

Laura Quinn

Speech Therapist
lquinn@lmc896.org
Sandra Ramos

Sandra Ramos

Para Professional
sramos@lmc896.org
Rodney Sanders

Rodney Sanders

After-School Director with Manhattan Youth
rsanders@manhattanyouth.org
Debra Zimmerman

Debra Zimmerman

Para Professional
dzimmerman@lmc896.org

© Lower Manhattan Community Middle School